Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2014

Considering the study of celestial bodies.

The wife and I are talking about getting a telescope for the family for Christmas. Our 1st grader was studying the moon phases this fall and it seemed to pique the interest of his younger brothers. I've been looking at a Celestron 70mm with travel backpack: Celestron 21035 70mm Travel Scope https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001TI9Y2M..._YMw-BbRC5ZRQA
    Does the lownje know of a better introduction in to the beyond?

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
    Click here to edit signature.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2013
    I got a electric one similar to the one below. The one below has a equaltorial mount or something that makes it easier to track stuff, cause it is moving. I'm not an expert, so others may have better suggestions.
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0007UQNKY...e-e3b457f31c52
    BANNED

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oh COME ON!!!!!!

You meant actual celestial bodies??? Sigh.

Back in the late sixties, I tried to grind my own mirror, with the key word being tried.

Next year's budget might allow for a nice scope.

hello
    I strongly suggest you lurk through Cloudy Nights astronomy forum before spending a dime on astro gear.
    SurlySteamrollerLitespeedClassicBianchiPista
    DeanColonelSurlyLongHaulTruckerKonaKu
    LitespeedFirenzeCinelliOlympic

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by jfaas View Post
    The wife and I are talking about getting a telescope for the family for Christmas. Our 1st grader was studying the moon phases this fall and it seemed to pique the interest of his younger brothers. I've been looking at a Celestron 70mm with travel backpack: Celestron 21035 70mm Travel Scope https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001TI9Y2M..._YMw-BbRC5ZRQA
    Does the lownje know of a better introduction in to the beyond?