GPS Navigation and Stupidity
    Spicy Dumpling

GPS Navigation and Stupidity

My wife got me a Garmin for Christmas, I love it. It isn't perfect but it gets me there eventually and I think it will be a helpful tool in the long run.

Good Moreoning America had a feature this morning about how people are blindly following GPS directions wherever they may take them. They had an idiot who turned when it said turn without looking where he was going. He ended up on train tracks and his rental car was destroyed. And numerous trucks going under bridges that are too low because they are following routes not normally used by trucks.

I'm no rocket scientist but I know enough to keep looking out the windshield to make sure I'm not driving into a lake. If I was a truck driver I'd be smart enough to know how tall my trailer was and how to read the big yellow sign stating the clearance.

GMA basically blasted the GPS as imperfect which it is. But apparently it is more reliable than the human brain IMHO.
    If I were to beat you senseless with a tire iron, what color would you bleed?..The Missus

I am no Guide
    I gave my dad a Garmin GPS, and bought myself the same one. I love it. I travel all over the place for work (no more then about 3h from home), so I drive. The GPS is great compared to trying to use maps and stuff the GPS is great!.

I have been using it on routs I know well just to get used to it. It does take so different routs, but as Vaughn has said it does get you there.

But this business of completely shutting off your brain and blindly turning because it said turn is absolutely stupid.

You gotta watch where you are going for sure...
    It's not the bike, it's the Engine

jaded bitter joy crusher
    Here's a story in the New York Times about truck drivers in England blindly following GPS through towns with tiny narrow streets they can't possibly navigate: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/12/04/wo...ope/04gps.html