RoadBikeReview Member

How to solve sticky tuners on "classical" guitar

Hello, Everyone - I just got a nice, used Yamaha G-60A. However, three tuners are really sticky. I thought it might get less humid sitting in my home for a few days, but that has made no difference.

What is your favorite method for solving this? Sand out the hole the rollers go in? Lubricate with graphite? Or shavings from bar soap? Throw out your advice. I have never done this before. i have a new set of strings, and plan to dig in this weekend.

Darling of The Lounge
    Homebrew bike lube

RoadBikeReview Member
    HA! I'm about to ream out a peg hole on my old fiddle after having the peg head snap off in my hand (too much peg dope?) so I got nothin except stay away from peg dope!

( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
    While I'm not familiar with classical guitars, typically a dry lube is recommended...either graphite, or perhaps a Teflon based spray that'll dry out quickly (leaving no spooge or schmutz behind).
    I lost my phone number. Can I have yours?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Retro Grouch View Post
    Homebrew bike lube
    I saw this discussed on the interweb. If anyone wants to put a recipe or link, I may do the home brew lube.

half-fast
    Frets.com is a good resource for guitar repair.

Im with Fuji, oil will be bad.

Are they stuck, or just creaky?

Try rubbing a pencil point in the gears.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by 10ae1203 View Post
    Frets.com is a good resource for guitar repair.

Im with Fuji, oil will be bad.

Are they stuck, or just creaky?

Try rubbing a pencil point in the gears.
    Gears are OK. I believe the problem is the 'peg hole' the 'peg,' the roller is in. They are very tough to turn, and I don't want to force them. They are tough to turn only at one point of one entire cycle, not the entire cycle of one whole turn. I think over time these tuner holes have gotten out of being aligned.

25yr Houston-Austin MS150