Open this thread if you work/ed in a bike shop
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2008

Open this thread if you work/ed in a bike shop

im looking at hourly rates here....

right now im in college. i work seasonally and part time at dicks sporting goods as a bike tech. i started at $10/hr.

the dicks is 2 hours from college in my home town. however, i really want to live at college for the summer.

there is a really good bike shop a few miles from my apartment. they sell specialized, orbea, scott, etc. however, being in a college town, i dont know how much business they actually do. though, cycling is pretty big in town. also you have all the kids that ride bikes to class and bring them in to get fixed...

my experience with higher end bikes is not very high, and i am not a professional mechanic. i can do the basics, and some more technical stuff. i also am very good at sales and that sort of thing.

i applied on their website the other day. im going to talk to them in a week or two if i dont hear anything (i had to be super aggresive to get the job at dicks, and when i got it i turned the bike department around).

so given all this, what is the range one can expect to make in a bike shop?

MB1
    Enjoying Post-Employment
    In a college town a part time worker/student is going to be lucky to make much more than minimum wage. Lots of demand for those summer jobs so there is no real reason for a shop to pay a lot.
    Quote Originally Posted by the_dude
    these are better than i was expecting, and my expectations were already rather high.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2007
    In a college town a part time worker/student is going to be lucky to make much more than minimum wage. Lots of demand for those summer jobs so there is no real reason for a shop to pay a lot.