Considering a Moots for my next bike, but still the choices....
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2010

Considering a Moots for my next bike, but still the choices....

I've been back on the bike now for a few months and enjoying it immensely. My current bike is a Salsa Podio with a full Sram Rival set. I've got a few thousand miles on this bike, but have been off it for a couple of years.

I work a ton of hours and am re-discovering the fact that when I'm on a bike, I simply can't think about work. The freedom of the bike reminds me of my motorcycle days, plus it is a fantastic cardio workout.

My background is engineering, with a degree in Materials Science. I appreciate carbon for what it can do - especially when laid up by Boeing under an AS9000 quality system. I have less respect for it when laid up by an unknown shop in China. As a Clyde, I don't trust my fat backside to a carbon frame.

So I'm considering Ti. No, not considering it, I'm committed to it. I have waffled between Seven and Moots (I have good dealers for both in my area). I tend to think that I'd be better off with a stock set of frame sizes than a full custom, which pushes me towards Moots. I will complete the build with a SRAM Force set.

I'm not a sprinter, but I do turn myself inside out when I ride. I am kind of an in-between rider. I tend to be a bit faster than the average on group rides, but slower than the "dedicated" riders in the local cycle shop kits. I try to be a spinner, but I know I can generate some power standing up and cranking a higher gear. I am 43 years old, 6'3", and currently about 225 with a target weight of 190 or so (been there before while riding).