Vamoots DR vs. CR
    RoadBikeReview Member

Question Vamoots DR vs. CR

Hello fellow Moots lovers!

I have been lusting over Moots for the past 4 years or so, and I even visited the factory in Steamboat Springs the past 2 summers.

I was ready to pull the trigger on a Vamoots CR last summer, but wanted to wait to see what would happen with road disc brake technology.
    Since TI is considered a lifetime frame; I just did not want to buy a rim brake bike and be stuck unable to buy new groupsets for it in the future.

Now that I waited they released the DR. I am fairly sure disc brakes are catching on, and I think that is the route to go so that I can continue to buy new groupsets in the decades to come.

I am not very keen at looking at geometry specs and comparing them.....so does the DR have a similar geometry as the CR?

I am looking for a do it all road bike that can handle everything from a 20 mile hammer fest to 50 mile group rides to even solo century rides.
    I doubt it will see and unpaved surfaces.

What does RBR think???

RoadBikeReview Member
    Looking at the size 54 specs the DR has a *slightly* lower BB, and a 2cm taller headtube. Its frontend geo with the 43mm fork rake and 62mm trail runs decidedly towards stability. The .5cm longer CS follows along those lines. Seems like a Strada Bianca style gravel friendly roadbike.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Thank you for the input!
    How far off is that geometry from a "performance" road bike like a cannondale evo, trek madone, pinarello dogma, etc.???

RoadBikeReview Member
    IMO *many* riders coming from neutral front geo need to learn how to turn a 60mm+ trail front end. Others adapt with no issues, some never do.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011