Ridley Question

Thread: Ridley Question

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2009

Ridley Question

I have an opportunity to get on a Ridley this year, but I am new to the brand. I am having a hard time in seeing the differences between the frames.

I am a light guy, so I value a light bike. What's the difference between the Heliums and the Excalibur? Which of these two models has the best geometry for racing and the best weight to stiffness?

Any help would be appreciated!

gbh
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2012
    I hope you won't mind my jumping on your thread, but I also have a Ridley question, and I thought it might be better to keep them together.

Has anyone ridden the new Ridley Fenix yet? Supposedly it takes elements of the Damocles and the Excalibur, which sounds good in theory. Seems to be priced as an entry level carbon frame, below the level of the Helium. I've only seen one short review of it so far.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2006
    @ gbh, Ridley are very good, no-non sense, well built bikes, I've heard they had quality issues in the past but all that is been resolved. The geometry is pretty much the same for all models. I own a Damocles 2010, which is a discontinued model for 2013 and a Noah (first generation) 2008. The Fenix, per Ridley is a combination of both Damocles and Excalibur, also discontinued, but in doing that they have lowered the carbon grade to 24, Damocles and Excalibur were 30/24. That's why the Fenix is cheap and "heavy" for carbon standards, but according to Ridley, it's a very stiff yet compliant ride. They accomplish this by shape/tube engineering. I'd say Fenix is an excellent entry carbon bike with racing capabilities. But if you want lightness perhaps you should look into the higher end new model like the Helium and Noah. Check their website for more info.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2006