Orting, Wa. Rails to trails...
    Fat guy in little coat.

Orting, Wa. Rails to trails...

I am new to road biking - just bought a 2005 Cannondale R900. For my first longish ride (remember, I'm new) was the 20 mile (round trip) paved Rails To Trails path in Orting, Wa. I went early in the morning (the weather has been spectacular) and only saw maybe 6 people the whole time. The trail follows the Carbon river for most of the way, and on some parts of it you get a real sense that you are in the middle of the forest - a coyote passed in front of me at one point. At the trail head, just before the city of Orting, there is a place where you can park your car and there are bathrooms and water. Traveling into Orting is somewhat inconvenient with several stop signs to impede your progress, but it isn't that bad since the town itself is pretty quaint and park like (though it's growing.) Just before you leave the city there is a bike shop (oddly enough), and then it's nothing but pedaling heaven - smooth, new cement and trees and foliage. Don't get me wrong there are roads near by, but at that time of day there was next to no traffic noise and it was very peacefull. The trail for right now ends at the South Prairie trail head, which had bathrooms but frustratingly no water that I could find, and construction is now underway to connect to the Buckley (North East). The ultimate goal, as I understand it, is to pave a way from Puyallup to Mt. Raineer National Park. I don't know how long of a ride what will be, but I can't wait to try it! The main downside to this path is the speed limit of 10mph, but at 9am on a weekday morning - with so few people around, I didn't keep it; I averaged 16mph for the entire ride, and reached a top speed of 26mph when I saw a couple with an unleashed dog at the bottom of a small hill. It was only when I passed them that I noticed that the dog only had three legs. I might be new and out of shape... but really ;)