Anyone use stationary exercise bikes?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008

Anyone use stationary exercise bikes?

So I'm a college student and currently don't have the funds for a new road bike. I have been riding on a stationary exercise bike at the local gym and plan to keep doing so throughout the winter and spring until I can get onto my old road bike from the 80's in the summer. I hope to be able to purchase a road bike later in the year and to start training for racing with the school's cycling team.

Does anyone still use exercise bikes? It seems like rollers and trainers are the ways to go, but as I said earlier, those aren't options that are available to me.

If anyone does still use exercise bikes, what kind of workout do you do? I use the old-school exercise bikes that are just a heavy wheel with friction resistance pads. They don't show cadence or heart rate or anything like that, so I'm sort of unsure of what to follow when training. All of the workouts I have read about use % effort determined by heart rate or keeping a certain cadence for a specific amount of time. Recently, I've just been doing multiple 1.5min-1.5min hard-rest intervals, but I'm not sure if I'm pushing hard enough or resting easy enough.

Any input is appreciated!

Poseur
    Do you go to an antique gym? The stationary bike sounds pretty pathetic. I wouldn't consider no heart rate a huge deal since you can get a HRM at a pretty reasonable price, but no cadence? How about speed or distance? I think your best bet is to buy a HRM and then at least you'll have some indication of how hard you're working. That and an easy to read digital watch should actually be enough.
    I like cats, I just can't finish a whole one by myself.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008