Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Coaching: Worth the $$$?

3K views 40 replies 20 participants last post by  KATZRKOL 
#1 ·
Hi all.

Have some questions for those of you who've invested in coaching services.

Have you found a significant difference/advantage compared to DIY/Training Bible training plans? Did it improve your results or increase your training efficiency (good or better results for less training time)?

I've been doing he Friel thing for a couple of years and improvement seems to have max'ed out, partly do to life/job commitments, partly because I'm not sure how to fine-tune my training plan. I'm trying to decide whether a coach would be worth the $1k or more it'd cost for the year.

Thanks.

#3 ·
While there are many good books out there...

goldsbar said:
Sounds like a lot of $$'s for someone who is doing this as a recreational activity (i.e. your job/life commitment comment). No first hand knowleadge of cycling coaches. Most information, however, seems readily available in books.