Computer, data download for Mac
    RoadBikeReview Member

Computer, data download for Mac

I am starting out my racing career and becoming aware that I need a more regimented training program. I do not have access to HR or power at this time.

I do solo rides during the week and either race or do group rides on the weekend. The group rides can either be hammer-fests or long and slow.

I am an engineer, so data analysis is something I enjoy. That being said I think I will get the most out of a unit that can export the ride data to my computer.

My computer is a Mac.

My budget is limited, but I will spend what is needed to get the right tool for the job.

Will a heart rate monitor be enough to get my training on track or do I need to invest in a power meter?

Is there a unit (heart rate or power) that will interface with my Mac without a hassle?

jains89
    heart rate is a great first step. You can find them for under 50 dollars and will make a world of difference in your training. A power meter is the next step. Many say it sucks the fun out of riding, and I would only recommend it if you 1. are going to get a coach who trains with power, or 2. want to start racing and don't mind detailing a very structured training plan for yourself. It's still a fun tool to have, but you won't be using it the it's fullest extent if you don't do one of the above. Garmin and polar (albeit with some issues) are both compatible with mac. (the only ones I can think of off the top of my head. And all power meters are (again the polar with some difficulty)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2007