home-made hypoxic trainer?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2006

home-made hypoxic trainer?

is it possible to make a home-made hypoxic respirator?

methods?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Possible

Quote Originally Posted by ctracer01
    is it possible to make a home-made hypoxic respirator? methods?
    Eddy Mercx used such a device in training for the hour record in Mexico City. Of course, he (and his trainers) had it backwards, because the current wisdom is that you should "sleep high, train low" and he was doing the opposite.

To build something, you would need to open up a respirator cartridge and put in something that reacts with/absorbs oxygen. Unfortunately, most things that react with oxygen give off quite a bit of heat in the process Not being an inorganic chemist, I can't bring to mind any readily available compounds to do this, but Google is your friend, so knock yourself out. The effort, cost, and testing required to get something like this to actually work in any kind of controlled fashion seems like a complete and utter waste of time. Enjoy.

bas
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004

methods?
    Hmm, buy a small brown paper bag and breath into that and out all day.

Might want to take a regular breath before you pass out ;)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2006
    haha.

i was thinking of punching a hole in the bottom of a coke bottle.

didn't think it was too feasible, but what the heck, what harm is there in asking

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2003

methods?
    As Kerry points out the latest wisdom seems is to train at low altitudes so power/training intensity isn't compromised and sleep at high altitudes so that you spend the necessary hours to get the EPO response and increase in red blood cells that come with altitude adaptation.