Older Riders...Relatively New Older Riders...
    I lowered my cholesterol!

Older Riders...Relatively New Older Riders...

I have been riding in earnest since August 2004. I am now 54. I am told by my pre-med son that muscles we have at birth are what we get. You can develop them, but not grow new ones. I'm 5'6" and about 148 lbs., slim rather than stocky, shorter torso, longer legs, confirmed fast twitch guy (sprinter in high school). So if I am stuck with the original equipment, and if I started relatively late in life, how much improvement to my capacity to ride fast and long can I expect in the future given good health. Am I fighting a losing battle? I'm mainly looking for testimonials from late bloomers like me, not 54 year old life long riders with thunder thighs and compressors for lungs.

Cat 6 rider
    Your son might be better to ask than me, but as I understand it, you replace muscle all your life. Old cells die, new ones replace them. If you're exercising hard you break muscle fibers and two grow in their place. If you're not using all you've got, old cells die off and aren't replaced. When you get to a certain age it's difficult to build muscle mass.

I'm a decade younger than you, also a high school sprinter, and have increased muscle mass and endurance markedly in the last five years. In terms of endurance I'm in the best shape of my life. Until I started riding and telling myself- hey, I can go longer, I was convinced I couldn't go long. Right now I think nothing of doing 150 mile weeks. My first ride was exactly one mile long.
    To the troll mobile, away...

waterproof*
    Just cause you're 54 does not mean the body's innate nature has stopped working.

When you train, you overload, then recover and the body adapts. It works the same whether you're 5, 15, or 99. Maybe not as _fast_ but it still works.