RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011

Say it ain't so: 65 watt FTP drop?

Can this really be true or do I just need to run a FTP test again?

Last winter I started training for the first time and using power. Here is a run down of what has happened.

I used Sufferfest on my trainer and did their 4D test last November. I was using virtual power based off the Kinetic Trainer. All of my trainer/winter training was based off this number
    FTP was 294w

Won some free CTS coaching and did a CTS Field Test (on the road with Powertap P1) at the very end of April. I was holding well above 315w for each long duration.
    FTP was 296

Got injured in August and just shut it down for about a month and then just mountain biked on the weekends until now.

Yesterday did the same CTS field test, but on the trainer with the P1 pedals. Also my max watts was super low like in the 700's

FTP is roughly 232. W T F?

Did a training ride on Zwift today with my FTP put in at around 255 just for giggles. It was super easy (granted I chose 10-12 week FTP building and said out of shape, but still.) At the end I did a little sprint and was over 1000 watts, which is higher than previous wattage.

Do you all think I just had a bad FTP test and should I do it again? Maybe not enough sleep, bad food, stress? Any ideas of why so bad?

How long should I wait to do it if so?

Thanks for the feedback.

RoadBikeReview Member
    you're using different conditions and gear to measure.
    Do the CTS Field Test (on the road with Powertap P1) and compare.

or do the Sufferfest 4d test again on the kinetic trainer.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011
    Kiwi thank you for the reply.

I don't have Sufferfest anymore, so can't do the 4D.

Super hard to get out and ride outside. I basically work dark to dark. Might be able to this weekend.