• 11-30-2008
    sted
    1 Attachment(s)
    Training advice and setting realistic goals - need help :)
    Hello everyone. I'm new to the road biking scene and I've been looking in various places for training advice with little luck.

I'm 25, weigh 145 pounds and am about 5'7 - 5'8. I used to compete in various sports training at a very high level. I have not competed in any physical sports for last few years and have since taking up biking to not only get back in peak form but to also compete.

A few questions I'd like to ask are :

Are there any articles/sites that can tell me what times I should be shooting for over certain distances i.e. miles/% of incline (im not sure what the technical term is)

Any training advice websites or articles that describe what time of body I should ideally have? I still lift weights just to keep shape and I'd like to know how I should change up my training.

Also a website that can tell me how races are organized and what determines your class/level. I've heard a few phrases tossed around like cat-5, cat-4, but after searching a bit I have been finding only schedules/meet up dates and not explanations as to how its classified.

If anyone can help me out I'd really appreciate it. The day I bought my bike, I handed my fiance my car keys, road the bike home and didn't get off till 7 hours later. I can already tell this is a sport that I can grow to love and enjoy.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can answer these questions. Below is a pic of the bike I bought.

Its a Fuji 08' Roubaix. I'm told its an introductory road racing bike with front and rear carbon forks. Not to fancy but certainly more than enough to learn on and upgrade when I need to.
  • 11-30-2008
    tbrown524
    First, your bike is fine.. I've seen Cat 3 racers riding much less.

Second, Try here first for more information about bike racing. http://www.usacycling.org/