What's Up With Strava Watts?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2017

What's Up With Strava Watts?

I'm trying to get more erious about my riding and increase my speeds. I can't afford a real watt meter, so I'm relying on Strava to tell me how hard I'm working.

Yeah, I know, Strava, but it what I've got to work with.

I've been keeping track of my rides in a spreadsheet since 2008 and recently threw the data into a database as well. Since 2018, I started tracking my Watts, along with standard How Far / How Fast / Active Time data. In going back to Strava to retrieve data from 2015, for various reasons a benchmark year for for me, I came across some really weird stuff.

Make no mistake about it, my 2019 self would blow my 2015 self away and say, "That's all you got?", but yet, my maximum watts rides are all in those early years. What's up with that?

Case in point: In June of 2015 I reached a high average output of 205 Watts over 25.8 mi, with an average speed of 13.9 MPH, and a total of 346 feet climbed. Pretty flat. Now, in Nov 2018, I rode 101.7 mi in El Tour de Tucson, at an average of 15.3 MPH, and climbed 3,714 feet along the way. My average Watts for that ride: 108.

I don't get it.

I know I'm not world class, that's not the point here, but I am better than I was, still getting better, but the Watts numbers don't show it. Other than suggesting getting a real Watt meter, not an option at this point, can someone offer help analyzing this data?

RoadBikeReview Member
    the virtual watts from Strava are not accurate enough to worry about. If you want to get a feel for improvement, look at speed over the same course over time. There will be variance in that data due to wind etc, but it's going to be a much better indication of improvement.
    Gravel Rocks

Trek Domane
    Niner RLT9 (Gravel Bike)
    Trek Crockett

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    The Strava power is nothing more than a guesstimate. There are variables they can not account for.