Modern steel vs. vintage steel
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Our hero is saved!

Modern steel vs. vintage steel

I've been lurking in the retro forum long enough to know I probably belong here...

Long story:

Next year I'd like to get a new road bike. Currently all of my road riding (commuting, fast club rides, centuries, backroads exploring) is done on a Gunnar Crosshairs. And although I consider myself a "mountain biker," I've been riding the Crosshairs more and more. So, I'd like a road bike for club rides and centuries, but with room for fenders and 28c tires - I ride year-round and appreciate wider tires and full coverage fenders.

I also like the ride of steel. I've owned steel and aluminum bikes, and demoed titanium and carbon fiber. If I could afford a high end road bike, I'd have Joel Greenblatt of Clockwork Bikes build me something awesome. But I'm a high school science teacher with a wife and three young kids at home, so that won't be happening anytime soon. I'll likely get a Kona Zone (aluminum, I know, but affordable and I've got a good relationship with the local Kona dealer) or a All City Mr. Pink (if I want to spend the extra $$$).

I'm intrigued by the idea of buying an older steel frame and building it up with modern 9- or 10-speed components, like something from the neo-retro thread. I very much prefer aesthetic of the skinny tube look of a vintage steel bike and bet I could build something cool for the same price as the Zone (so long as I'm patient enough to wait for a few deals).

Short story:
    What does a modern steel frame offer that a vintage steel frame can't? Stiffness? Better ride quality? Or just current bottom bracket shells and head tubes?

And if I do go the neo-retro route, what should I look for in a vintage steel frame?

Thanks!

Lost in Space...
    Why are you't looking at the Kona HonkyTonk?