CR1 Pro vs. Foil R2
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011

CR1 Pro vs. Foil R2

A bit of a noob here, so looking for some help.

I've always been a specialized guy (both road and mountain). I'm ready to upgrade from my 2005 Specialized Allez Elite. I've been eying the SL3 roubaix expert, but it's pretty expensive (~3700 or so after taxes) and I'm starting to wonder if there are better options for less or similar $$.

Anyway, a friend suggested I check out Scott and I'm very impressed with everything I've read on the CR1 Pro......and, it looks INCREDIBLE.

Same with the Foil R2. Although a little more expensive. Reviews have been very good and again, it looks INCREDIBLE.

My dilemma is that nobody has any CR1 Pros in an XXL (61cm) including Scott, so I haven't been able to ride either one. I'm stuck with waiting for the 2012 and paying the (I assume) premium price for basically the same bike. Or, I can get a Foil R2 for $3600 including tax. I'm interested to know your opinions on Foil R2 vs. CR1 Pro. I don't race, but I like to do long rides (40-70 miles) on the weekend and with quite a bit of climbing. While the Foil is probably a bit less comfortable for long rides, I suspect it's faster on the flats and downhill. I wish the Foil R2 came with Ksyrium Elites instead of Cosmic Elites.......if it did, I think I'd jump on the Foil.

Any other pros/cons? Reviews from people that have ridden both? Or either?

Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I own an '08 CR1 and a '10 Addict RC. Both are admittedly different bikes to the ones you are considering. I use the the CR1 for training and crits, the Addict for road races. I would choose the Addict over the CR1 any type of riding; it's a rocket ship.

Over time, the CR1 has become more of an "Endurance Bike". I rode a '10 model and did not like the way it felt compared to my '08 or the Addict. The question might come down to one of fit; do you need a taller head tube or not?