Runners/Joggers in Santa Monica on San Vicente...
    Commuter

Runners/Joggers in Santa Monica on San Vicente...

I am new to riding on San Vicente towards the Ocean in Santa Monica and Brentwood.

I noticed that when I ride back inland (east) on San Vicente, I encounter large groups of runners/joggers in the bike lane against traffic. It seems like regular practice for them to not yield to cyclist who are riding properly in the bike lane with the flow of traffic.

What is the etiquette on San Vicente?

I often find myself forced out of the bike lanes onto traffic. The runners/joggers don't even offer to form a single file when they see a bike coming. At first, I thought they would yield and make room for cyclist since they are running on wrong side of the road against traffic, but I soon learned that they don't. I am not a runner, but I am guessing that it's a runner thing to go against traffic if seems based on my observations. Must be a saftey thing to not have cars against you back. Practical really, but seems like they impose on cyclist and force cyclist into unsafe situautions.

I stopped riding on San Vicente on weekends now to avoid the hassle, but was just wondering if they have grown to just get the right of way.
    You can call me "MTP" if my full screen name grosses you out.

Back from the dead
    I'm sure I'll get flamed, but my policy is not to give up the right of way to people going the wrong way. I'll look away, stare them down, whatever, but I'm not jumping out into traffic I can't see to avoid some bozo. They can see the traffic, so they can avoid it better than I can. Now I'm not going to run into anyone, but if they aren't moving out of my way, I'll come to a complete stop and dare them to hit me. That's what Miss Manners says to do when walking on the sidewalk, so I figure it applies here as well.

I don't exist

Right on!