SRAM electronic shifting?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012

SRAM electronic shifting?

Hi...relatively new to the party, but I have just purchased my first modern road bike with SRAM force groupset and am really looking forward to the delivery date at my LBS. With Campagnolo pumping EPS into the athea group and Shimano more than likely to have a 105 Di2 before I finish this post, is SRAM going to have an electronic shifting groupset any time soon. Please know I am new to this and, for all I know, SRAM may have announced its plans months ago. Just curious as to why, with both major competitors offering electronic shifting in at least two groupsets apiece, SRAM doesn't have the 2013 RED extra-special-electronic-shift groupset. I should also note that I have never been on a bike with electronic shifting...is it all that "they" say it is?

'brifter' is f'ing stupid
    SRAM has not said anything about electric stuff. nor have they decided to go 11 speed. i'd imagine that at some point both will happen, especially the 11 speed race groups. the pressure will build in the 2013 season because Shimano will have their teams on 11 speed D/A, and Campy teams have been 11 for a while now.
    i haven't messed around w/ EPS very much at all, but it's pretty nice. i have lots of experience w/ Di2, and it's also great. it's very reliable and very easy to work on. if you haven't tried it yet, do it. it's really fun. not a major performance advantage at all, but just cool.
    #promechaniclife

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2001
    SRAM is releasing an 11-speed MTB group this year.
    Côte du Petit Pas d'Ane - Best climb name ever.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Right, SRAM has 11 speed mtb, and making their road wheels 11 speed compatible, so you know it's in the works. Don't be surprised to see 11 speed electronic shifting out later this year/next year.
    "Those who like it, like it A LOT!"

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012