Is it possible to "test drive" a tandem?
    Bring the pain
    Jul 2012

Is it possible to "test drive" a tandem?

I hope this isn't a dumb question.
    I am an avid cyclist. I have been riding for about ten years now and have logged thousands of miles. The bad part is that I have done this mostly solo. I have a daughter that is 13. She likes to ride some but I don't think she has the desire to ride long distances. I would be afraid of her getting burned out if she had to produce all the effort.

Would a tandem be something that could foster her love of the road and provide some "Father/Daughter time"?

Is there organizations that put on rides that let newbies try out a tandem to see if they like it?

I live in Central Illinois.

Thank you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004
    Google tandem rentals in your area.
    A few years back....I wanted to get a tandem with my girlfriend....but didn't want to drop the cash and have her hate it. We rented 1 from a near by shop. She was hooked, we bought one and we did a lot of miles together.
    She's gone now...but I still have the tandem
    As far as your daughter.....she's at THAT age. As a father who went through it....good friggin luck! You're gonna need it!

RoadBikeReview Member
    I agree with trying a rental place, then you can ride it for a couple of hours if she's up to that long, otherwise you could test ride a tandem from a dealer for about 15 minutes. I hope your daughter likes it, but make real sure she does and not just saying she does to please you, if she does that you'll buy a tandem and not have a rider to go with you then your stuck with a tandem! Keep in mind too that most teenagers hit about 15 years of age and suddenly hanging with dad is no longer cool. I would buy used so the cash outlay is a lot less, then if she gets too cool for you and no longer wants to ride then your not out as much money.

Bring the pain
    Jul 2012