Complete newbie!
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2020

Complete newbie!

Hey all,
    Jon in SW Florida here.
    Currently looking Into getting a fitness bike to get on the horse and lose a few lbs and have fun doing it.

Looking at a Trek FX3 Disc in matte black, sits around $800.00
    Would this be a good midrange/starter bike for fitness? Not going to be a commuter, probably start off a few miles a day for a while, mostly pavement.

Looking for something higher quality than big box stores to grow with.

Iím around 6í and 280 currently and looking to get that down to mid to low 200s.

Any suggestions? Am I going too high for my first ďreal ď bike?

Suggestions? Comments?

Thanks again!

Jon

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011
    I would most likely point you in this direction if you were in my store. I would also show you the Verve 3 which has some more comfort features.

Neophyte
    Don't be afraid of drop bars... you may find yourself really getting into it and there are sub $1000 (especially if you look for sales) "gravel bikes" out there which could turn out to be really versatile.

You may hear the term gravel bike a lot now in stores / the industry. Think of it as a road bike with better pedal clearance and wider / knobby tires that can handle some trails.

Example: Fuji Jari

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2020
    Ok folks, i pulled the trigger on the trek fx3 disc in rage red xl frame

Just brought it home, and took a quick spin on it tonight, and the true work begins tomorrow.

Any suggested riding apps for gps, speed, cadence etc? Or should I just bite the bullet and get a cycling computer?

I like the idea of a phone based app simply for the mapping qualities and tracking distance and time and recording of these metrics

Obligatory photo of my new baby!
    And, yes Iím going to get a proper tailgate pad or hitch mounted carrier.

JSR
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006