broken eyelet on rim
    RoadBikeReview Member

broken eyelet on rim

I noticed something on one of the spokes on my rear wheel and realized that the eyelet had broken on the rim. The top half slid down the spoke and rattles around when the bike is moving. Can you see any reason why I would need to have the eyelet replaced? Or can I just cut it off and go without an eyelet on that spoke? The rims are Mavic Open Pros, 32 hole.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Each eyelet is there to spread the force from the nipple over a greater surface area in your rim so the spoke hole won't fail in that spot. With 32 spokes, if one spoke does fail, you might actually be able to get back from a ride without walking, if your wheel has been built properly. If I had an eyelet fail, I'd first try to see if I could get it replaced, and if not, I'd rebuild the wheel with a new rim and spokes.
    Hey everybody, ride my wheels! They ride good, real good.
    I'm a wheel builder. SRLPE Wheel Works. Send me a PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Over worried

Quote Originally Posted by 4slomo
    Each eyelet is there to spread the force from the nipple over a greater surface area in your rim so the spoke hole won't fail in that spot. With 32 spokes, if one spoke does fail, you might actually be able to get back from a ride without walking, if your wheel has been built properly. If I had an eyelet fail, I'd first try to see if I could get it replaced, and if not, I'd rebuild the wheel with a new rim and spokes.
    What most likely has happened to the OP's wheel is that the "outer" part of the eyely has cracked off. The inner part is what spreads the force to the rim surface, and it is still in place. The outer part is just a small crimp of metal that holds the eyelet firmly on the rim. If the tire, rim strip, and spoke was removed, that would allow the inner part of the eyelet to fall out, but otherwise there is probably nothing to worry about.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2005