Bulges at spoke holes on carbon wheels (photos)
    RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2016

Bulges at spoke holes on carbon wheels (photos)

Bulges have started forming at the spoke holes on my Chinese carbon wheels. Interestingly, unlike a number of posts I've read, the bulges are forming on the sidewalls, not on the inside surface of the wheels. Has anyone experienced this? If so, and if you continued to use the wheels, did the bulges ultimately lead to a wheel failure? My sense it that even though the wheels are disfigured, they can still be used for training purposes with minimal risk. Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2014
    I'm no expert, but it seems to me the key question is the following: if that bulge is an early sign of a "failure" what form will that failure take? If it takes the form of a broken spoke, or a spoke breaking out of the rim, then that's a bummer, but it's not going to cause you to crash. If it takes the form of the rim itself collapsing, then that would be a reason not to ride the wheel at all. To me the latter possibility seems extremely remote, since I just don't see how that bulge is going to affect the overall integrity of the rest of the rim. But as I said, this is just an uneducated guess.

[REDACTED]
    Small bulges eventually become bigger bulges. I would not ride them on the road ever again.

The trainer is the only place I would use those wheels and I would keep an eye on them just the same. If a rim collapses under you on the trainer, it still might hurt, but probably won't send you to the ER.
    "With bicycles in particular, you need to separate between what's merely true and what's important."-- DCGriz, RBR.

“Statistics are like bikinis. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.” -- Aaron Levenstein

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveL View Post