Clydesdale wheelset Q&A
    Have any Grey Poupon????
    May 2010

Clydesdale wheelset Q&A

ive been riding for several years now but recently got a Giant TCR Advanced all stock.
    i currently weight roughly 260lbs and im not sure how much i like these Stock 16/24 spoke count wheels.
    I used to have a Carbon litespeed with Zipp 404s and rode the hell out of it and i was still probably around 225 then.
    I'd like to get some semi deep 35mm+ wheels that are proven pretty sturdy?
    I always run Conti GP4000s in 25mm.

Whats a lower priced wheelset with a semi deep dish wheel for a big boy?!!
    Don't bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself- William Faulkner

Road: 2019 Giant TCR Advanced
    MTB: 2019 Giant Fathom

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jeeper006 View Post
    ive been riding for several years now but recently got a Giant TCR Advanced all stock.
    i currently weight roughly 260lbs and im not sure how much i like these Stock 16/24 spoke count wheels.
    I used to have a Carbon litespeed with Zipp 404s and rode the hell out of it and i was still probably around 225 then.
    I'd like to get some semi deep 35mm+ wheels that are proven pretty sturdy?
    I always run Conti GP4000s in 25mm.

Whats a lower priced wheelset with a semi deep dish wheel for a big boy?!!
    I responded in beginners forum, but let me suggest for a big guy, 36 x 3 cross spoked aluminum rims custom built on a pair of nice cup and cone hubs, will be the best, hands down. These are usually cheap, under $500, nothing tricky, just solid, stiff, responsive wheels that can carry lots of weight.

There are many rim choices, generally aimed at cyclocross, gravel riding, loaded touring, 29er mountainbiking. "Box section" rims with spoke eyelets are also bullet proof. The 36 spokes hold things together, so the rim can be box shaped and very stiff climbing and such.