Continental GR 4 Season first impression.
    Old and in the way.
    Aug 2014

Continental GP 4 Season first impression.

Cooler weather is here, and my summer tires were beat, so I took a chance on the GP 4 season. I wanted a more durable tire since I'll be riding at night and want to lower the chances of a flat. After my first ride I'm pleasantly surprised at how well they ride and handle. I'm running 700 x 25 at 95PSI, and they are pretty supple. What really surprised me was the low rolling resistance. I don't notice much difference between them and the GP4000s tires I replaced. Not quite as fast, but really close. I know this is only one ride, but after 35 miles they feel really nice. Grippy, smooth, and reasonably fast. No idea about durability yet, but I'll update if my impressions change.
    Last edited by dmanthree; 10-05-2014 at 02:01 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013
    I agree with you. I have been running the as my primary tire since 2009 and they have worked out great. Only one flat in over 12,000 miles and it was a pinch flat from hitting a serious pothole that had been filled up with the rain coming down disguising it as a shallow puddle that should have sent me over the handle bars but didn't.

They wear very well as I get about 5,000 miles on the rear. I have found that they tend to have a rather pronounced squaring off as they wear more so than other tires although they all do it.

The weakest point of Conti tires is the side walls, I think they make them a bit softer to get a better ride feel while still having the Kevlar puncture barrier..That can lead to failures from time to time, but I have only had good luck so far.

If your frame will handle them, I would suggest trying some 28c and run them 10 psi lower and you will appreciate the extra grip and comfort!