Disc Wheelset for new Goant Defy Advanced
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2015

Cool Disc Wheelset for new Giant Defy Advanced

I just picked up my new 2015 Defy Advanced Pro 1 with the Giant P-SL0 disc wheelset. The wheels have come in without skewers etc at 1770gms. Id like to start looking at something a bit lighter to run on it.

Id probably like to stay with Alu probably as much for budget as wanting something compliant, and carbon may be to stiff and harsh to ride everyday.

Initial research has got me to a build of either HED Belgium Plus or Stans Grail rims with White Industries CLD hub with DT Aerolite spokes. Should come in around 1630 which isnt a huge weight gain but should be quite noticeable? and still quite comfortable with the wide rim.

Any thoughts/suggestions regarding this set? Im a reasonable newbie on wheelbuild so thoughts on either rim oretc would be hugely helpful
    Last edited by photomadnz; 09-26-2015 at 09:19 PM.

A wheelist
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by photomadnz View Post
    Giant P-SL0 disc wheelset. The wheels have come in without skewers etc at 1770..................HED Belgium Plus or Stans Grail rims with White Industries CLD hub with DT Aerolite spokes. Should come in around 1630 which isnt a huge weight gain but should be quite noticeable?
    Saving 100 grams (or so) will not be noticeable. I switch between wheelsets with far more difference than that and can't tell a difference at all. Even when you switch wheelsets that can be felt during initial accelerations (400G?) that doesn't translate to faster times or faster average speeds. Lighter wheels slow down faster and take more power to hold at a given speed.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2015
    Thanks Mike. Any thoughts on the hardware?

A wheelist
    Feb 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by photomadnz View Post
    Thanks Mike. Any thoughts on the hardware?