RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2010

GP 5000 vs Schwalbe Pro One TL comparison

GP 5000 vs Schwalbe Pro One TL comparison-conti_gp5000_tubeless_700x25.jpg

I've been running Schwalbe Pro one tubeless in 700x25c for two years now. I do about 10k miles a year, mostly road. Recently switched to the new GP 5000 tubeless 700x25c. My observations and experience so far, after one hilly road ride on the GP 5000's. I'm a skinny cat 2, pretty quick descender. 160lbs, 6-3". Bike 60cm Cervelo S3 disc, Light Bicycle 45mm carbon hooked bead wheelset, 21mm internal width. Very wide. Orange seal (standard).

The 700x25c Schwalbes measure 29.9mm wide on my wheels.
    I usually run them around 85psi front, 90psi rear for fast club rides. 5psi lower on solo rides. I usually got around 1500 miles on rear, 2500-3000 on the front. When I wasn't being lazy, I'd rotate the tires front to back to extend the life a bit.

The Schwalbe's had average puncture resistance. Quite often little holes would self seal without me knowing it. I tossed out probably 3-4 tire prematurely from big cuts. Nothing unique to the Schwalbe as those cuts would have ruined a tube type tire as well. Ride quality was excellent. Grip also excellent although they were less grippy in cold weather. I have a few downhill KOM's so I do push the tires hard.