Handbuilt 32 spoke Wheelset vs Mavic Aksium etc
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2016

Handbuilt 32 spoke Wheelset vs Mavic Aksium etc

Hi all,

I am cheap and am looking for the best value in a wheelset (within my budget, no HED Belgiums on 350 hubs for me). I am also a bike mechanic and have built a couple wheels, so I am comfortable with building wheels myself. I have a budget of about $200.

There is a set of 2017 Mavic Aksium WTS wheels with Aksion 700x23 tires on ebay for ~$200 shipped. They are 1823g.

I am also looking at building my own wheelset from Shimano 105 R7000 hubs, DT Comp DB spokes, and DT R460 32h rims. It should be about 1850g. This would cost me about $200.

Is there any reason the Mavics would be a better wheelset? I am 170lbs and like racing crits and like taking my road bike on dirt occasionally.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Build your own wheels...even if you've only built a couple they're still better than Mavic.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    Just make sure you open up those hubs, regrease, and adjust carefully.

The 105 hubs are amazing value and come with awesome quick releases but they neither come well adjusted nor well greased.

changingleaf
    Your handbuilt wheelset should be more durable, but the bearings in the 105 hub are not the best. I would check the bearing preload too.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    I'm quite cheap too and I ride a ton of miles some of which is conditions harsh on wheels.

One thing I learned over the years is that being cheap can get expensive.

I don't know how much you ride and I'm not trying to imply you'll have issues with 105 hubs because I don't know them well but if you ride a lot it might be worth stepping it up to Ultegra.