Help choose between HED H3 tri-spoke and HED JET 90

Dec 2005

Help choose between HED H3 tri-spoke and HED JET 90

I have been doing timetrialing and I am looking to purchase aero wheels and was going to get a HED disc for the rear.

I am also looking to purchase either a HED H3 tri-spoke or HED Jet 90 for the front. From looking online, and getting data and also talking to the HED tech/engineer. On the HED website they said that the HED H3 tri-spoke drag data can be compared to the Stinger 90 wheel as they were tested in the same windtnnel during the same test. The drag data for the HED jet 90 was tested at a different wind tunnel so the data can not be compared to the HED H3. From looking at the H3 vs. the stinger 90 it shows that the wheels is faster up to about 10 deg. yaw, then the H3 is a faster wheel. Also I got some theoretical comparing wheels and it also shows the HED Jet 90 being a faster wheel then the HED H3 tri-spoke.

I know I am being nit picky, but I am an engineer and I would like to by the faster wheel and better wheel. The drag data also shows that the stigner 90 to be more aero with more of a head wind, but as you get sidewinds the H3 is faster but not my much over the stinger 90.

I also tried to take crosswinds and handling into play between the two wheels, and the surface areas of the two wheels are very close with the H3 having a slightly smaller surface area then the stinger 90. Also the Stinger 90 does have more if it area farther from the axes of the wheel allowing more torque to be applied by the wind over the H3.

I was also looking at for some reason if I want to replace the disc wheel in the back, or for some reason I can not use the disc wheel, then I would run into this same problem trying to choose between the H3 or the Jet 90.

I am looking at the Jet 90 over the stinger 90 because I want a clincher rim and it seems that the stinger 90 only comes in tubular.