I need/want advice on new rims
    Resident Curmudgeon
    Nov 2005

I need/want advice on new rims

Before I get into this too deeply let me say that I'm a 76 yr old clyde. I've been riding since 1963, was a cat 2 roadie at one time, & still ride 3-4,000 miles per year. In 57 years of riding & racing I think it's fair to say that I've changed a tire or two.

In June of 2019 I bought a bike with Swiss DT wheels...E 1800 rims, 24 hole. They've been perfect! The bike came with Conti 28mm 4000's, which I have worn out. I got some 5000's & went to change them out. HAH! Using steel levers I couldn't even remove the old ones from the rim. Red faced, I took the wheels to a pro shop near me & asked them to change them. I stood & watched while 2 mechanics took around 45 min. to remove the 4000s & mount the 5000s. BTW, the 5000s are not the TLs.

That sealed the deal for me. I was getting rid of those rims regardless of how well they performed. I've made up my mind that I will absolutely NOT get any rims that are tubeless ready. End of discussion.

I've been looking at Hed c2 rims or Hed C2 wheels with thru axles. I've used Velocity Deep Vs, but they're heavy as hell. Anybody got any suggestions? And PUHLEEEZE, don't tell me how to change a tire, use a thinner rim strip, use different tires, etc. I'm 76 yearss old & my hands are getting a little arthritic, but most tires I can change without any tools at all.
    Thanks for your indulgence.
    Before you criticize someone walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you criticize them you'll be a mile away & you'll have their shoes.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    I like off-center rear rims. The Velocity A23 series has worked well for me. DT's RR411 series is similar. In non-O/C rims, I've built wheels with Mavic rims and never had a problem. Check out their "Open" series or A319 or Open Elite.

What the what???