Long and Short of it
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2014

Long and Short of it

I've been using Vittoria Rubino Pro tires for many years through many iterations of their models, 700x23c and now always 700x25c. I have never had what I would consider a problem mounting these tires on a variety of rims. A little elbow grease and I always get them to pop on.

Today I installed their Rubino Pro G2.0 tires on my wheels (Sun Assault rims) and my Wife's Alex DA22 rims. I've installed hundreds of tires but the installation on the former rims took several hours. I ended up with finger blisters and using a tire lever. Something I would never do. Has Vittoria covertly reduced the diameter of their tires considering rims without hook beads?

Next, I installed these tires on my Wife's Alex DA22 rims. Pop, pop, tires on in 5 minutes. She's been getting some pinhole flats making me think the Alex rims are out of spec and smaller in diameter than others. I am wondering if the tires are squirming around because they are not tight enough bead to rim. No response from Alex Rims regarding this concern.

I love to climb!
    Once inflated, the tires should be plenty tight to the rim. Check the rim carefully for any burs, etc.
    Stop in at Element Sports. www.elementsport.com
    Get Out! Have Fun!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2014
    Weird thing about these latest Rubino Pro 622-25s. When I put a caliper on the tire, I get 23.3mm. My other bicycle has an older version of the same tire and calipers measure 25mm or slightly above.

Banned Sock Puppet
    I have a Rubino Pro 2.0 on my front wheel - a DT Swiss R460. No more difficulty than any other tires I've mounted on those rims.
    "COMPLACENCY IS LETHAL - VOTE in November." - System Shock.

"With
    bicycles in particular, you need to separate between what's merely true and what's important."
    -- DCGriz, RBR.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2014