Reynolds Aero 58
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2009

Reynolds Aero 58

Has anyone got the Reynolds Aero 58 wheels. Been looking at these against Zipp 404 Firecrest CC.
    They seem to be going in different directions technology wise.
    Zipps have a round blunt shape where the spokes go into the rim, the Reynolds come to point, guess time will tell which technology goes forward, although both seem to go with wider rims.
    Just wondered if anyone has ridden both and what they think of the wheels. May end up with C50 9000's for the safe bet, but they are a bit heavier.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013
    I have no personal experience with these wheels, but do have a friend that owns a set and he absolutely loves them, he has been ridding for years and has tried out different wheels including the zipp 404s and said that he will keep these for many years. I am getting ready to replace my American classic aero 420 3 with the Reynolds aero 58.
    I will post after I get them and try them out.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013
    If anyone else has any comments on the Reynolds aero 58 please post.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012
    I had 58/72's but recently got rid of them. I found that they spin up well, not fast but well. Crosswind control was fantastic, only in major gusts did I ever feel anything and even then it was slight. They handled crosswinds as well as my zipp 303 fc and better then my reynolds forty six and giant pslr1-aero.

They are a fantastic wheel set, I got rid of my aero bike so I'm downgrading to shallower rims. I would have kept them if they were both 58's.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013

Thumbs up 2013 Specialized Tarmac on Reynolds Aero 58s

Quote Originally Posted by r1lee View Post