RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2003

Road tubeless on carbon rim brake wheels? Anyone have experience you can share?

I'm getting a set of Light Bicycle carbon wheels that are tubeless. They will be rim brake and for road use. I use tubeless on my other bikes but not road and not rim brake carbon.
    In my area, East Bay SF Bay Area, there are mountains and unfortunately glass, little wires, etc that cause flats. I'm hoping tubeless would help with the flats but I've read the sealant can "cook" if overheated.
    So I'm looking for anyone who can provide some feedback. I'm decided on the wheels but can give or take tubeless. Anyone have experience with this setup?

Thanks

RoadBikeReview Member
    I've been running Boyd 44 carbon rims (rim brake) for a couple of years (and road tubeless since Hutchinson was the only TL tire maker) and have never heard of that before, in fact I'd suspect a carbon rim would de-laminate before cooking sealant. I suppose sealant can dry up quicker in road wheels than mtn bike wheels because of corresponding tire surfaces but that would happen regardless of brake type.

If possible, I 'ass'ume it'd be easier to cook sealant with aluminum rims than carbon imho.

Enjoy your ride.
    Last edited by upstateSC-rider; 2 Weeks Ago at 03:43 AM. Reason: sp
    In reference to the Assault on Mt Mitchell...
    Quote Originally Posted by merckx56
    The easier solution is to find a biker bar in Spartanburg the night before, go in and pick a fight. The ass-whipping you'll get will be far less painful than the one Mitchell will give you the next day!

changingleaf
    Tubeless will help you reduce flats on the road. I have never heard of sealant cooking in a tire, only drying out quicker in some conditions that others. Tubeless is safer descending as well because when you get a puncture the air leaks out slowly giving you time to to stop. The same size puncture in a tube will deflate very rapidly.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2013