Seeping Tubeless Sidewalls--Normal?
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2005

Seeping Tubeless Sidewalls--Normal?

Hi all,

I just changed my first set of tubeless tires (Conti 5000 TL x 28) because I wore out the first set (the rear anyway--a Conti 5000 TL x 25). One of them would not hold air and I could find no evidence of leaks, so I put it under water and found that the sidewalls, both sides and all the way around the tire, were slowly seeping air. The video won't attach, but you can follow the link to see how bubbles are forming on the sidewall, then floating away. I'm thinking, defective. But since I'm new to tubeless, thought I'd see if this was at all common.

https://youtu.be/WW6uC_j3_3Y

Bradley

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    I don't know squat about tubeless really but the fact it's only happening to one of them is a pretty big clue that it's not normal.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Strongbow View Post
    I don't know squat about tubless really but the fact it's only happening to one of them is a pretty big clue you shouldn't have to deal with that.
    Shouldn't have to, but . . . LOL

Certainly not the sort of thing I expect from Conti.
    Bradley

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Are you sure your 5000's are the TL's and not tubed version?

I've been tubeless about 5 yrs. Including Conti 5000's. And I have a bunch of friends tubeless as well. Never seen this happen. But it's not unheard of. There was just a discussion here about a month ago.

https://forums.roadbikereview.com/wh...ss-373619.html

BTW, your video link doesn't work either.
    Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2005
    Definitely tubeless, at least according to all of the packaging and labeling.

Thanks for the note about the link. Not sure why they work on my machine and not for others. I'll attach a still image I'm using for warrant purposes.