Spare tubes when running tubeless road tires?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2016

Spare tubes when running tubeless road tires?

I have about 500km on tubeless tires and I’m contemplating getting rid of the tube in my saddlebag in exchange for a tubeless repair kit. I was wondering how many of you tubeless riders have ever required a tube (I.e. had a puncture that a plug could not repair but a tube was able to repair?)?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tjc
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010
    I've been running tubeless road since 2016, and have never had to put a spare tube in while on a ride. I only had one case of not sealing, and that was when the sealant had dried up and I had forgotten to check/top-off sealant level. Fortunately, I was only a couple of miles from home, and the wife rescued me by car - figured that was going to be faster than dealing with pulling the valve stem out and wrestling in the tube. However, if my wife wasn't home when I called, or if I were further from home, I would have been very glad I had the spare tube.

I don't think a plug kit (unless it has some kind of sealant) will be air tight on its own. But if you are sure to always keep up with your sealant levels, and don't loose too much from the puncture, you'd probably be fine.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I still carry a tube and a boot in case I get a cut sealant won't fix.
    Gravel Rocks

Trek Domane
    Niner RLT9 (Gravel Bike)
    BH G7 Disc
    Trek Crockett

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002
    I don't think a plug kit will work on a large cut, like from glass or a piece of metal where you need a tire boot.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Why on earth would you not carry a tube? Actually, why would you use road tubeless? The benefits are minimal and the risks are not so minimal.