Tubeless tire pressure drops to nearly zero when I connect the pump
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2015

Tubeless tire pressure drops to nearly zero when I connect the pump

I just got my first set of tubeless wheels/tires for any of my road bikes. I have a lot of experience with MTB/CX/gravel tubeless but never road.

Anyway, if I connect my pump to the valve, air starts hissing out of the valve stem/rim interface area until the tire is basically flat. In previous experience, this means that there is a flaw in the tape job but this time I used Roval rim strips so there's less chance for an imperfect seal like with tape. If I pump the tire back up, it holds air for days at a time but I'm wondering why it basically goes flat just by connecting the pump.

All of the equipment that I think matters--Light Bicycle AR56 rims, Roval rim strips, Orange Seal valve stems

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Do you have the nut installed and tight? My guess is when you put the pump head on, you're pushing the valve stem up and letting air escape. Once it's inflated, there's enough pressure to keep it seated and sealed.

Custom Di2 & Garmin/GoPro mounts 2013 SuperSix EVO Hi-MOD Team * 2004 Klein Aura V

RoadBikeReview Member
    What TLG said.
    Gravel Rocks

Trek Domane
    Niner RLT9 (Gravel Bike)
    Niner RLT9 RDO
    BH G7 Disc
    Trek Crockett

"The Spirit of the Party "serves always to distract the public councils and enfeeble the public administration. It agitates the community with ill-founded jealousies and false alarms, kindles the animosity of one part against another, foments occasionally riot and insurrection

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2015
    I put it on as tight as I have in the past for other setups but I'll try tighter. The Orange Seal valve stems came with o-rings to put under the nut (not something I've seen before) so maybe that's causing friction that makes it feel more torqued than they really are.