Tubeless tires are driving me crazy!!!
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012

I am relatively new to tubeless tires and liking them a lot. I purchased some Mavic Kysium Pro Carbon UST wheels with 28mm Yksion tires which are starting to wear out. I like the Yksion tires, but I wanted to explore the use of different tires.

I had read that certain tires are more difficult to mount than others. Considering that UST was supposed to be a standard, I though most tires would fit this rim well.

My two choices would be Schwalbe Pro 1 TLE and Continental 5000 TL. I really wanted the Continental becuase of decreased rolling resistance. I contacted both companies. Schwalbe responded first stating that their tires follow UST protocols and would fit fine and mount easily, Continental responded via a telephone call. Very impressive! Unfortunately, they told me it is designed for wheels of this design, but will not likely fit without significant difficulty, if at all.

How is it that two companies can make a tire that fit so differently? I am baffled. There must be standards that need to be adhered to. Looking for more understanding.

Thanks
    Steve
    Lynskey R300 disc SRAM 1x
    Lynskey titaniium seatpost
    Speedplay ultralight action pedals
    SMP Drakon saddle
    Redshift shock absorption stem
    Mavic Pro Carbon wheels
    Man I love this bike....

Look 566 Rival (Still here but on my trainer)
    Look 765 up for sale (still a great bike!)

'brifter' is f'ing stupid
    You have just discovered the difference between 'theoretically' and 'realistically'.
    #promechaniclife

Adorable Furry Hombre
    The GP5Ks are renowned for being bastards to get on, on basically all rims

RoadBikeReview Member
    You maybe coulda walked there.
    Too old to ride plastic

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002