Vision Metron 40 Clincher
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2015

Vision Metron 40 Clincher

Hi all, Newbie here just wanted to know if anyone has any experience or know of any one who may have used these wheels ? I can get quite a decent deal on them compared to others in this category..
    this will my first full Carbon Wheelset I ride mainly flat and some hills, but planning to take on hills more as spring is approaching I'll be able to get out much more.
    Any opinions, experience would be highly appreciated as there's not many reviews on these, the ones I have read all seem fairly positive but prefer reviews/opinions from real users.

Thanks
    savio

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011
    never heard of these. but if their name indicates they're some 40mm carbon clinchers, then don't bother. 40mm ain't aero enough on the flat. And in the mountains, they're probably probably heavier than good aluminum (ie, not good on ascent) and won't brake as well as the aluminum on the descent.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002
    These came on my 2014 Cannondale Synapse Black Inc (yeah, the fancy one). And they're one of the reasons the bike was so expensive. I put maybe 500 miles on them and they seem nice enough. But they're kind of pigs - over 1600g I think. They are pretty and look nice on the bike. I'd say they're worth $1200 or so - they do have ceramic bearings (and that's what I'd sell mine to you for, incidentally!) But I would buy a set of Boyd's 44mm clinchers before I spent anywhere near what these retail for.

Anyway, I swapped them out for a wheelset built with Pacentis and the hubs I sell - they're just lighter and livelier. The Visions are now hanging on the wall in my office. I suppose I'll use the this summer again - they do look nice. But I think there are far better options out there for the money.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2015