Wheelbuilding help...
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2007

Wheelbuilding help...

I am building a wheel set using I-9 CX/disc hubs and Light Bicycles U shaped 45/55mm rims, laced 2x on each side. I plugged the numbers into a few spoke calculators and came up with 261/266mm spokes. Ordered the spokes and built the wheel up but the dish was off. If I am facing the wheel on the stand, the disc tabs and 261mm spokes are on the left, and the 266 were on the right. I put a little tension on the wheel and the dish was about 5mm pulled to the right. Being a newb, I thought, what if I laced it up with the 261's on the right side and the 266 on the left, it might work. Well, after about 6 hours of checking and rechecking, I am at a loss.

Any ideas?

ERD 549
    Left Flange (Disc side) 56.9
    Center-Left 21.8
    Right Flange 38.6
    Center-Right 37.4

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2011
    longer spoke right side, [FRONT, opposite rear] I'd mostly tension non disk side first and let tensioning the disc side pull back then touch off to desired tensions. Again front opposite rear on disc wheels Pay attention to hops, which should be easy to control with tall rims I'd say. At least that is what I would try/do, and probably would finish off tensioning and truing with a tire mounted with plenty of air.

Not claiming to be a pro wheel builder by any stretch though... And thus am interested in other opinions on the matte...

If you really are a clyde [as I am] I would and have done same cross and changed the front disc side to 3x on 28 hole rims of low profile [CL25 Pacenti] after one ri

Post corrected [after reading Mikes and thinking about front VS rear]

Apologies for initial fast ambiguous post.
    Last edited by robt57; 11-01-2015 at 04:45 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Robt57/Me!