Adorable Furry Hombre

Yo, wheelbuilders: Onyx hubs?

Any of you all work with Onyx hubs? Concerns/problems?

https://onyxrp.com/

This would be for a thru-axle graveling bike...and the idea of a silent cartridge bearing hub is very appealing. There's a few threads on Weight Weenies and MTBR, but nothing about CX/road yet....granted I'd have to use their MTB front hub as they don't make a 15x100 CX front hub...
    "Refreshingly Unconcerned With The Vulgar Exigencies Of Veracity "

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009
    I would also like to know. Im thinking about building up a set of wheels with these hubs.

wheelbuilder
    I have no first hand knowledge of the hubs but I have one observation.

Why the cutouts in the freehub? It's just inviting contaminates into another area of the hub normally sealed. That can't be good for the bearings.

I see that White Industries hubs are less expensive. Those are excellent hubs.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by ergott View Post

Why the cutouts in the freehub? It's just inviting contaminates into another area of the hub normally sealed. That can't be good for the bearings.

Good point.

And did you see the front? https://onyxrp.com/store/mtb-hubs/mt...mm-thru-helix/ (they make ones that are not cut out like that though).

I'm far from a stickler for keeping clean hubs but that looks like a nightmare to keep clean especially for a mountain, cx or gravel bike. The bearings may be very well sealed, but I still don't want a hub full of mud just because.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2005
    A couple friends use them on their mountain bikes and love them due to their instant engagement on super low gear ratios (34 up front and 50 in back). I can understand how this would be beneficial on steep/technical climbs. No idea if it would be noticeable for gravel bike gear ratios. Maybe the drag free aspect of the hub would be beneficial for gravel/road descending but, I don't know...

wheelbuilder